Leaders of Palestine
(State of Palestine)
[To the list of countries]
[To the ZPC Homepage]

Look for biographies of the leaders (in Spanish) at CIDOB website.

Note: The Palestinian National Authority (PNA) was an autonomous entity comprising the territory of Gaza (formerly under Egyptian sovereignty) and towns and areas of the West Bank (formerly under Jordan sovereignty), which were occupied by the Israeli Defence Forces in 1967. As provided for in the Israeli-PLO Declaration of Principles on Interim Self-Government Arrangements signed on 13 Sep 1993 in Washington, and upon the Gaza-Jericho (I) Agreement signed on 4 May 1994 in Cairo, the PNA was inaugurated on 5 Jul 1994 as a five-year transitional status including Palestinian interim self-governing and a phased-out transfer of powers and territories. Negociations on the permanent status, which could end in a Palestinian State, were under under way until Oct 2000, when the peace process collapsed. On 3 Jan 2013, following the 2012 United Nations General Assembly resolution, Palestinian President Abbas ordered all Palestinian embassies to change any official reference to the Palestinian Authority, which therefore ceased to exist, into State of Palestine. The State of Palestine, proclaimed by PLO on 15 Nov 1988, remains ineffective but receives wide diplomatic recognition, including the UN observer state status granted on 29 Nov 2012.

See also the political leadership in Israel and Jordan.

Parties: PLO: Palestinian Liberation Organization - Fatah: Palestinian National Liberation Movement (member of PLO) - Hamas: Islamic Resistance Movement

Presidents of the State of Palestine
Yasser Arafat (Abu Ammar)  2 Apr 1989 - 11 Nov 2004 (†2004) Fatah/PLO
Mahmoud Abbas (Abu Mazen)  8 May 2005 -                     Fatah/PLO

Presidents of the Palestinian Authority
Yasser Arafat (Abu Ammar)  5 Jul 1994 - 11 Nov 2004 (†2004) Fatah/PLO
Rauhi Fattouh             11 Nov 2004 - 15 Jan 2005         Fatah/PLO (acting)
Mahmoud Abbas (Abu Mazen) 15 Jan 2005 -  3 Jan 2013         Fatah/PLO

Prime ministers of the Palestinian Authority and the State of Palestine
Mahmoud Abbas (Abu Mazen) 19 Mar 2003 -  5 Oct 2003         Fatah/PLO 
Ahmad Qureia (Abu Ala)     5 Oct 2003 - 15 Dec 2005         Fatah/PLO     
Nabil Shaath              15 Dec 2005 - 24 Dec 2005         Fatah/PLO (acting)
Ahmad Qureia (Abu Ala)    24 Dec 2005 - 29 Mar 2006         Fatah/PLO     
Ismail Haniya             29 Mar 2006 - 14 Jun 2007         Hamas (1)     
Salam Fayyad              17 Jun 2007 -  6 Jun 2013         Third Way 
Rami Hamdallah             6 Jun 2013 - 13 Apr 2019         Fatah/PLO
Mohammad Shtayyeh         13 Apr 2019 -                     Fatah/PLO                                      

(1) Prime minister Ismail Haniya was dismissed on 14 June 2007 by PNA president Mahmoud Abbas, who appointed Salam Fayyad instead. This was deemed illegal by the Palestinian Legislative Council, which continued to recognise Haniya. Fayyad governed in Fatah-controlled West Bank, while Haniya continued to govern in Hamas-controlled Gaza Strip. The separate Gaza Government lasted to 2 Jun 2014, when the new unity Government (Fatah-Hamas coalition) of prime minister Rami Hamdallah was installed.
Chairmen of the Palestinian Legislative Council
Ahmad Qureia (Abu Ala)     7 Mar 1996 -  5 Oct 2003         Fatah/PLO              
Rauhi Fattouh             10 Mar 2004 - 18 Feb 2006         Fatah/PLO
Abdel Aziz Duwaik         18 Feb 2006 -                     Hamas (2)

(2) Abdel Aziz Duwaik claimed, with recognition of the Hamas-controlled Government in Gaza, to be the acting president of the PNA since the elected term of Mahmoud Abbas expired officially on 15 January 2009. This claim lasted to 2 Jun 2014, when the new unity Government (Fatah-Hamas coalition) was installed.
Chairmen of the PLO Executive Committe
Ahmad ash-Shuqeiri         2 Jun 1964 - 24 Dec 1967 (†1980)          
Yahya Hammuda             24 Dec 1967 -  2 Feb 1969         
Yasser Arafat (Abu Ammar)  2 Feb 1969 - 11 Nov 2004 (†2004) Fatah     
Mahmoud Abbas (Abu Mazen) 11 Nov 2004 -                     Fatah     

[To the list of countries] [To the ZPC Homepage]
ZPC homepage© Copyright ZPC, Roberto Ortiz de Zárate, 1996-2021
URL of this page: http:/palestina/zarate.eu/palestine.htm | E-mail: zpc@zarate.eu